Friday, March 23, 2012

I have a little series that you will LOVE! The series comes from acclaimed author Kate Dicamillo. The Mercy Watson series follows a pet pig named Mercy Watson and her exciting (and often heroic) adventures. I read the whole series to my students when I taught 2nd grade and they couldn't get enough! Check these books out below. Happy reading! :) 

After Mercy the pig snuggles to sleep with the Watsons, all three awaken with the bed teetering on the edge of a big hole in the floor.

Mr. Watson's usual Saturday drive in his Cadillac with his favorite pig, Mercy, turns into an adventure when an unexpected passenger shows up in the back seat and Mercy finds herself behind the wheel.

Mercy the pig's love of buttered toast leads to the capture of a small thief who would rather be a cowboy. 

Mercy the pig is in for a Halloween adventure when Mr. and Mrs. Watson decide to dress her up as a princess and take her trick-or-treating. 

Two sisters move in next door to where Mercy the pig lives, and frustrated when Mercy continues to eat their flowers decide to call for the help of an Animal Control Officer, Francine Poulet, to handle the case. 

Mr. and Mrs. Watson think it is a wonderful idea to bring their pet pig Mercy to the drive-in, and when Mercy arrives, she sets off on a mission to find her own buttery bucket of popcorn, much to the dismay of the other movie patrons. 

- Links to Love - 

Want to learn more about Kate DiCamillo? Click here!

Check out a cool Google Books preview of Mercy Watson to the Rescue:

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...